What’s In Your Head (In Your Heaaaaaaad)?

Zombie. Zombie. Zombie-ie-ie.

Another song. Not really related to anything poly though. Sorry.

I’m sure I’m not alone in sometimes needing to just put on music and to mentally slip away for awhile. Some people might consider it meditation. Others processing. Whatever it is, I use this same coping mechanism too.

What I think might be slightly different though, is that instead of finding the right song and turning it down, I need to turn it up to 11 and really drown myself in the sound of it all. If I have on tranquil, soothing music at a low volume, I’ll be relaxed, sure, but my mind isn’t going to do much of anything, just get sleepy and calm. My long since adopted process is to find the song I need (lots of energy, commotion, probably down-tuned guitars) and turn it up as high as I can take it so that it almost becomes a steady white noise to my brain.

Today I had the urge to listen to “Zombie”, and so on my walk back from lunch I cranked the volume and put Spotify on repeat. I didn’t have any breakthroughs, there were no massive revelations, I don’t think I even thought about all that much, but what it created was a safe and calming space for me to exist in for a few minutes.

Anyway, just a random quirk about my day I wanted to share. But it does make me curious, what are some of the coping mechanisms (musically or otherwise) that you use to get through it all?

Leave a comment