Truth Bombs

So I’ve endeavored these past months to figure out who I am, what I want, what I have to offer others, and many other similar questions, and there have been a number of helpful resources in exploring these areas. Reddit, blogs, several websites, and also some books available at your local library!

One resource though is worthy of special recognition, and it’s the book More Than Two by Franklin Veaux and Eve Rickert.

More Than Two, available through Amazon

I’ve been working my way through the book this past week, and when an unexpected road trip came about this last weekend, I downloaded the audio book through a free trial so that I could continue with the subject matter when reading wasn’t an option.

Cut to today, walking back from lunch, listening to the audiobook with my earbuds, and me saying “yessssss” out loud to no one in particular. I was at a part in the book about coming out as poly when you’re in an established mono relationship, and about advice and guidance for mono/poly relationships. And as I heard these things, and they struck me as so obvious, so natural, so much of what I want and what I think I could handle responsibly, it was all I could do to limit myself only to saying “yessssss” as I passed by strangers, rather than screaming my agreement to the heavens.

This road won’t be easy. It certainly won’t be painless. But so much of what I heard really resonated with me in a deep and honest way. I don’t want to overstate that this book is now my bible, but it’s certainly become a guidebook that I intend to revisit often (perhaps even weekly) as I embark and progress through the path ahead.

Your mileage may vary and all the rest, but I also want to point out that there is a lot of great content in here too which is applicable to any relationship, with lots of useful advice for being a good and loving person in the world as you interact with anyone, romantically or not. Anyway, unpaid endorsement is over. Just wanted to gush for a minute.

Leave a comment